Current Weather

You are here

29 counties hit by drought, floods get fed disaster declaration

LITTLE ROCK — U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack has made secretarial disaster declarations for 29 Arkansas counties that experienced droughts or flooding this year, Gov. Mike Beebe’s office said Thursday.

The declarations allow farmers in those counties to apply for federal aid, including emergency loans. Farmers can apply through their local Farm Service Agency office.

The drought declarations, which Beebe requested, are for Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Calhoun, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Grant, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Little River, Lonoke, Miller, Monroe, Nevada, Ouachita, Phillips, Prairie, Pulaski and Union counties.

Vilsack also made disaster declarations for counties, mostly in the state of Mississippi, that experienced flooding earlier this year. He included three eastern Arkansas counties: Phillips, Crittenden and Lee.

The Cabot Star Herald, Lonoke Democrat, and Carlisle Independent websites are available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access these websites at no additional charge.